UNINSURED & UNDERINSURED
Insurance requirements for Texas drivers
Getting into an accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist can be extremely frustrating, especially if there was significant damage done to your car or there were injuries to the driver or passengers.
Texas has strict laws when it comes to auto insurance. Texas is a “fault” state, meaning that drivers must carry liability insurance to pay for bodily injury and property damage resulting from accidents they cause. The current statutory minimums for liability are $30,000 for each injured person, up to a total of $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage per accident. But even though it’s the law, not every driver purchases insurance, and some lose coverage by failing to make premium payments in a timely manner.
Texas does not require drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This type of insurance provides protection in the event of an accident where the at-fault driver does not have liability insurance. Unfortunately, policyholders with uninsured motorist coverage often end up in disputes with their own insurers instead of the other drivers’.
Seek compensation even in cases of uninsured drivers
What legal options do you have when injured by an uninsured driver?
Far too many Texas motorists drive without car insurance in violation of the law. If you are injured in an accident that was the fault of an uninsured driver, you may be left with huge medical bills and lost wages. While you may not be able to pursue a traditional insurance claim, you still have legal options.
You can work with a Houston car accident attorney and file a negligence claim seeking compensation for medical bills, lost wages, property loss, physical pain and mental suffering. If the crash left you with permanent injuries, you can seek damages for the estimated future cost of any disability. Family members may also pursue wrongful death claims after a fatal accident.
You might surmise that a driver without insurance is probably too poor to afford it and doesn’t have any assets to attach in a lawsuit, but that’s not always the case. Some drivers are uninsurable or are subject to incredibly high premiums because of poor driving records or past DUIs. An attorney can do a thorough investigation to determine a driver’s ability to pay, even without insurance, and find a way to move forward with a civil action if assets exist. Under Texas law, civil judgments against uninsured drivers can prompt the court to suspend their licenses, which provides great incentive to pay the damages they owe.
Contact a knowledgeable Houston accident lawyer
For sound legal advice following a car accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, contact the Houston Law Office of Shane R. Kadlec. We give you the engaged service and helpful guidance you need to take action against negligent parties, even if they don’t have insurance coverage. Set up a free consultation with attorney Shane Kadlec to learn how you can improve your recovery.
"Shane showed genuine concern about my well-being. He not only gave me excellent legal service, he did so with compassion and integrity."--Tracy